Skip to content ↓

Our Curriculum

Children learn at different paces, both to one another and at different times in their own development. The National Curriculum sets two benchmarks: knowledge to be acquired by the end of Key Stage One and by the end of Key Stage Two. Within this, we are free to decide the best way to assess the skills acquired in each subject, at each stage of learning. Our focus is upon learning essential knowledge so we have adopted the Chris Quigley ‘Essentials’ Curriculum which sets out essential coverage, learning objectives and standards which are required for all subjects. The Early Years Foundation Stage and the Essentials curriculum together exceed the requirements of the English National Curriculum 2014.

Our curriculum content is organised into four stages:

  • EYFS is for reception children,
  • Milestone 1 is for years 1 & 2 (some children in Penguins, and all children in Robins),
  • Milestone 2 for years 3 & 4 (Owls class),
  • Milestone 3 for years 5 & 6 (Eagles class).

EYFS has its own distinct areas of learning, whilst the essentials of the Essentials curriculum are common to all other classes. For example, the essential ‘to use imaginative description’  is common and the same essentials appear in each Milestone. This is because we do not see the knowledge, understanding and skills the children learn as a series of separate and distinct items, organised neatly as if on a ladder to climb. Instead we regard the understanding of them as advancing across the primary years. They form our assessment foci and we assess the depth of each child’s learning and so build on that. 

The organisation of this curriculum can be found below.